Congruence

Congruence

What?      Congruence is the second individual value. Everything starts with the Consciousness of Self, after we understand who we are, we should match our actions and decisions to our values and beliefs. Congruence is about reflecting our values, principles, beliefs and priorities into our daily practices and behaviors. We need to first know what we believe in in order to act accordingly to our values. I learned about congruence a lot in my Persuasion (COMM 3064) class. The course showed multiple examples of public figures that have said something and done something totally different. It showed me how not credible this type of behavior make people look and how fast the trust of other people can be lost.

So what?     Congruence is really important because it shows other people that we are honest and that they can count on us and our word. It makes us credible, believable and respectable partner who other people want to work with or simply spend time with.

Now what?     I am really honest person and I have always been. Sometimes I say things I shouldn’t say only because I believe in it. Even if sometimes my point of view brings me some troubles, I will not change because that is what I believe in. I will always try to match my actions to my beliefs and values, so people around me will know that if I said something I will stick with it.

Leave a comment